September 24

Lecture notes and comments

Week #4

Date: September 24

Outline: For today’s lecture, we had new media faculty member  Mike Scott come in and discuss with us about the capstone project for new media majors. The handout we were given for class can be found here. (What is the Capstone Project?)

Comments: Let me start off by saying this was a very informative lecture, and one that I found very inspiring and thought provoking. Mike Scott teaches my NMD 295 class, which is an introductory course in new media technologies. This class is not an easy one because of his extremely indirect teaching style. However, that is one of the reasons that I like the class so much, and why I was so surprised how direct and specific he was about the lecture material.

One reason I could see was because he taught the capstone course that every new media major is required to take their senior year in order to graduate from the program. He is very personally involved in the process of teaching the class and inspiring the students to create something that is really spectacular, rather than average and non-impressive. I got the feeling that he really wanted to get this message through to the class, and to inspire us to start thinking about what we would do for our capstone project now in our freshman year. So I did as he asked, and these are my musings.

I would like to do something really spectacular and noteworthy, something no one else has thought to do. However, I don’t even know where my strengths are within the program, let alone what is new and exciting within the field of new media. From this I determined I was going to have to catch up. I’m going to have to start experimenting with different medium now, and outside of class where I won’t have the pressures of a grade hanging over my head to impede my learning process. Photography, cinematography, filming, researching, data storage and transfer, the list goes on and on. All these things I’m going to need to play with and work with, so I know my strengths and weaknesses, and what I would like to implement in my capstone.

I’m also going to have to start researching new technologies and ideas that are being discovered in the new media realm. I will also have to keep up with this research, as technology is always changing and evolving, which emphasizes the importance that I start this good habits early so that when it comes closer to my senior year, I will already have a large base of information I can draw from, and the skills and habits will already be in place to implement when it comes time to make my capstone.

Mike Scott mentions that we can make our capstone any year we want. I may not be ready before senior year, but I can take his advice and start looking for projects that I can do to that will challenge me, intrigue me, inspire me and enlighten me. I can’t wait to start!

Next

Previous

2 thoughts on “September 24”

Leave a Reply

