Retargeting

Reading comments

Week #7

Title: This post will be commenting on the article found on http://www.nytimes.com called “Rerargeting Ads Follow Surfers to Other Sites” by Miguel Helft and Tanzina Vega.

Comments: I’ve always found new advertising strategies to be very interesting, and this one is particularly clever, so it caught my attention right away. As I was reading this, I noticed that it seemed to me to be a little outdated. I’ve seen this kind of ad, especially Google and youtube ads, all over the place, and seems to me to be more prevalent than the article makes it sound. It’s such a smart move on the marketers end that I find it hard to feel anything other than impressed. It’s so clever because it personalizes the ad experience online, which is something advertisers have been trying to do for decades. We are continually moving closer and closer towards total personalization of our whole media experience, so to me this seems to be a natural step in the direction we’ve been headed for a long time. A fascinating article, and a technology to keep an eye on throughout my new media career.

Next

Previous

Leave a Reply

