Growing Up Digital, Wired for Distraction

Reading Comments

Week #8

Title: In this post, I’ll be commenting on the article found on http://www.nytimes.com called “Growing Up Digital, Wired for Distraction” by Matt Richtel.

Comments: I found it really interesting that an article on how our society’s younger generation has grown up with a shorter attention span is six full pages long. It’s length seems to be a statement all of its own, proving it’s point simply by forcing the reader to read all of it if they want to get the full message. The story of Vishal was interesting, and something that I could sympathize with, being both an alumni of Belfast Area High School and UMaine underclassman. Homework is nothing new to me, nor are the distractions that take away from it. This is an important topic in new media because the use of technology in classrooms is increasing. If the technology is causing a reduction in the quality of work that our students are doing, something has to change. Whether it’s the technology or the method of teaching, this may be a decision I will have to take part in later in my life. This article helped inform me on both sides of the issue, and was helpful in giving me the background information I need to begin thinking about this issue.

Next

Previous

Leave a Reply

