Apple and IBM, or Ying and Yang?

Reading Comments

Week #12

Title: This post will be commenting on the article found on http://www.nytimes.com called “Apple and I.B.M. Aren’t All That Different” by Steve Lohr.

Comments: This article was a little ground breaking for me, because I had always thought of Apple and I.B.M., as I think most people do, as very different entities. I had never thought that both companies basic marketing plan is to focus on software and technical services rather than hardware. We all see the fruits of their labor, but I always assumed they had different goals in mind. It was comforting to know I wasn’t completely wrong, because how they go about achieving this goal is very different from each other. I.B.M. focuses on scientific innovation, while Apple focuses on product based innovation. Which strategy works better? I know I couldn’t tell you, but the article mentions Apple just got ahead of I.B.M. in the last quarterly revenue announcement. Maybe this will become a trend, and Apple’s method of focusing on product development will become the method of the future. Only time will tell. 

Next

Previous

Leave a Reply

