Response to Pariser

I found this article very interesting, especially as a kid who has grown up in Maine. In Maine, you are surrounded by the hard working mindset. You work hard, long hours, no matter what the pay, but in the end, you just get it done. There is a real pride in people who lead their lives like this, and I often wonder how this world view would be different in other parts of the country. This view isn’t necessarily encouraging young people to go out and make changes in the world. It encourages them to bow their head and put their nose to the grind stone. It praises those who are willing to suffer so they can live. I don’t agree with this view. I can’t put my finger on it, but something about it I just can’t agree with. Why should we suffer and bleed to just make do? That’s not the way I want to live. I want to make a change, and this reading was very inspiring. I think more people should take a look at this, and more people should get the fuck out of Maine.

Leave a Reply

